LEI-Codes

Der einfachste Weg, die Business & Extended Validation zu bestehen

Ein Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) ist ein eindeutiger 20-stelliger Code, der jedes Unternehmen weltweit identifiziert, das Finanzzahlungen annimmt oder durchführt. LEIs sind in der ISO-Norm 17442 definiert und von den wichtigsten Volkswirtschaften der Welt (G20) anerkannt. Sie erleichtern die Einhaltung von Vorschriften und belegen die Legitimität der Unternehmen.

LEI-Preise

Starter

Zeitraum:1 Jahr
LEI-Registrierung:
Aktualisierung der LEI-Daten:
Beschleunigung der SSL-Validierung:
$59
jährlich abgerechnet

Pro

Zeitraum:2 Jahre
LEI-Registrierung:
Aktualisierung der LEI-Daten:
Beschleunigung der SSL-Validierung:
$103
jährlich abgerechnet

Premium

Zeitraum:3 Jahre
LEI-Registrierung:
Aktualisierung der LEI-Daten:
Beschleunigung der SSL-Validierung:
$147
jährlich abgerechnet

Über

  • Ein LEI-Code ist die Nummer 1 unter den globalen Identifikatoren für juristische Personen.
  • Sie ist ein eindeutiges Indiz für eine seriöse Organisation.
  • LEIs ermöglichen die Einhaltung der Vorschriften bei grenzüberschreitenden Transaktionen.
  • LEI-Aufzeichnungen sind transparent und leicht überprüfbar.
  • LEI-Codes vereinfachen die Meldeverfahren für die Marktaufsichtsbehörden.
  • Flexible Pläne und niedrige Preise
  • Mehrjährige Rabatte
  • Automatisierter LEI-Antragsprozess und mühelose Verwaltung
  • Rund um die Uhr engagierter Support
  • Rund um die Uhr engagierter Support

Unterstützte Einrichtungen

Eingetragene Unternehmen

Gemeinnützig / Wohltätig

Fonds und Treuhandgesellschaften

Staatliche Stellen

Einzelunternehmer

Zweigstellen

Merkmale der Statistiken

Akkreditierter GLEIF RA

2.552.999 LEI-Nummern weltweit

Beschleunigung der SSL-Validierung

Bester Vertrauensidentifikator

LEI-Code-Struktur

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
LOU-Kennung Reservezeichen Entify-Identifikator Verifizierungs-ID
Vierstelliges Präfix, das jeder LOU eindeutig zugeordnet ist Zwei reservierte Zeichen auf Null gesetzt Der entitätsspezifische Teil des von LOU generierten und zugewiesenen Codes erfolgt gemäß transparenten, soliden und robusten Zuweisungsrichtlinien Zwei Prüfziffern gemäß ISO 17422

Wie haben die LEIs die Handelslandschaft verbessert?

Nach der Finanzkrise 2007-2008 wurde deutlich, dass ein einheitlicher Identifizierungscode für alle Finanzinstitute weltweit erforderlich ist. Da jedes Land unterschiedliche Codesysteme zur Identifizierung von Vertragspartnern verwendet, war es für viele Organisationen eine Herausforderung, das Risiko zu bewerten und finanzielle Forderungen während einer sich entwickelnden Krise zu lösen.

Die Lösung kam von der G20, dem führenden Forum für internationale wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit. Ein eindeutiger Code, der treffend als Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) bezeichnet wird, würde jede juristische Person erkennen und die Verfolgung von Transaktionen in verschiedenen Rechtsordnungen vereinfachen. Der erste LEI-Code wurde im Dezember 2012 vergeben.

Wie haben die LEIs die Handelslandschaft verbessert?

Wer reguliert die LEIs?

Wer reguliert die LEIs?

Die internationale Einrichtung, die die Zuweisung von Codes für das Globale LEI-System (GLEIS) überwacht, ist das Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC). Um die GLEIS-Wartung und -Entwicklung zu rationalisieren, gründete ROC die Global LEI Foundation (GLEIF), eine Organisation, die Local Operating Units (LOU) für die Zuweisung von LEI-Codes in verschiedenen Rechtsordnungen zertifiziert.

Was kann ein LEI-Code identifizieren?

Ein LEI-Code ist der schnellste Weg, um den rechtlichen Status einer Organisation zu bestimmen. Auf den ersten Blick ist der LEI nur eine Zeichenkette aus 20 Zeichen, aber er ist der einzige Code, der von den globalen Finanzmärkten überall akzeptiert wird. Alle registrierten LEIs sind in einer öffentlichen Datenbank aufgeführt und enthalten die folgenden Daten:

Was kann ein LEI-Code identifizieren?

Wer braucht einen LEI-Code?

Jedes Unternehmen, das eine juristische Person ist, kann einen Legal Entity Identifier erhalten und in das offizielle LEI-Register aufgenommen werden. Jeden Monat werden neue Vorschriften erlassen, die die Aufnahme von LEI-Codes erlauben, und immer mehr Rechtsordnungen und Branchen verlangen LEI-Codes. Ab Juni 2021 schreiben mehr als 120 Vorschriften LEIs sowohl global als auch lokal vor. Dazu gehören MiFID II, MiFIR, EMIR, FICOD, Dodd-Frank Act und viele andere.

Von streng regulierten Branchen wie Banken und Versicherungen bis hin zum privaten Sektor, für den LEI-Codes nicht einmal vorgeschrieben sind, nutzen Unternehmen LEIs, um ihre Glaubwürdigkeit zu erhöhen und eine zusätzliche Sicherheitsebene zu schaffen. Wenn Ihr Unternehmen in eine der folgenden Kategorien fällt (wobei dies nicht auf diese beschränkt ist), sind Sie gesetzlich verpflichtet, einen LEI-Code zu registrieren.

LEIs – mehr als nur eine regulatorische Verpflichtung

Das Mantra der LEI-Codes lautet “kein LEI, kein Handel”, und obwohl diese Aussage wahr ist, gehen die Vorteile der LEIs weit über die Einhaltung der Vorschriften hinaus. Die Funktion “Konformitätskennzeichen” führt eine zusätzliche Ebene der Genauigkeit ein, indem sie die LEIs, die alle Datenqualitätsprüfungen bestanden haben, als aktiv kennzeichnet. Diese Erweiterung verbessert die Know-Your-Customer (KYS)-Sicherheit und die Betrugserkennung.

Die LEI-Referenzdaten enthalten neben den wesentlichen “visitenkartenartigen” Informationen auch Angaben zu den Muttergesellschaften. Somit ist die LEI der einzige Identifikator, der die beiden wichtigsten Fragen beantwortet: “Wer ist wer?” und “Wer besitzt wen?”. Sie verbindet die Muttergesellschaften und ihre Tochtergesellschaften auf möglichst transparente Weise.

LEIs – mehr als nur eine regulatorische Verpflichtung

Sowohl Menschen als auch Anwendungen können LEI-Datensätze verwenden

Sowohl Menschen als auch Anwendungen können LEI-Datensätze verwenden

LEIs in Zahlen

LEIs in Zahlen

LEIs sind das Rückgrat der Finanztransaktionen

LEIs sind das Rückgrat der Finanztransaktionen

In einer sich ständig verändernden Welt, in der Herausforderungen und potenzielle Krisen vor der Tür stehen, bieten LEIs den Organisationen ein berechenbares und sicheres Mittel, um ihre Geschäfte wie gewohnt weiterzuführen. Der Legal Entity Identifier ist der wichtigste globale Indikator für ein rechtmäßiges Unternehmen und wird von Hunderten von Finanz- und Wirtschaftsaufsichtsbehörden weltweit anerkannt. Aufgrund dieser Besonderheit sind LEI-Codes der einfachste und schnellste Weg, um die geschäftliche oder erweiterte Validierung für jedes BV- und EV-SSL-Zertifikat zu bestehen.

LEI Codes

The easiest way to pass Business & Extended Validation

A Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) is a unique 20-character code that identifies any worldwide business engaged accepting or performing financial payments. Defined by the ISO 17442 standard and sanctioned by the world’s major economies (G20), LEIs facilitate regulatory compliance and prove companies’ legitimacy.

Read More

Why you need an LEI code

  • An LEI code is the #1 global identifier of legal entities.
  • It is a bonafide indicator of a legitimate organization.
  • LEIs authorize the compliance of cross-border transactions.
  • LEI records are transparent and easily verifiable.
  • LEI codes streamline reporting procedures to market regulators.

Read More

Why choose us?

  • Flexible plans and low prices
  • Multi-year discounts
  • Automated LEI application process and effortless management
  • Around the clock dedicated support
  • We’re GDPR compliant. Your data is safe with us.

Read More

LEI pricing

  • $0
    Pricing Plan
  • Period
  • LEI Registration
  • LEI Data Update
  • SSL validation Speed-up
  • Choose this plan
Basic 1
  • $59
    billed annually
  • 1 Year
  • LEI Registration
  • LEI data updated
  • SSL validation Speed-up
  • Choose this plan
Basic 2
  • $103
    billed annually
  • 2 Years
  • LEI Registration
  • LEI data updated
  • SSL validation Speed-up
  • Choose this plan
Basic 3
  • $147
    billed annually
  • 3 Years
  • LEI Registration
  • LEI data updated
  • SSL validation Speed-up
  • Choose this plan

Supported entities

Registered companies

Non Profit / Charity

Funds and Trusts

Government entities

Sole Proprietors

Branch offices

Features stats

Accredited
GLEIF RA

2,552,999
LEI numbers globally

Speed-up
SSL validation

Best
Trust Identifier

LEI code structure

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
LOU Identifier Reserver characters Entify Identifier Verification ID
Four character prefix allocated uniqely to each LOU Two reserved characters set to zero Entity-specific part of the code generated and assigned by LOUs acording to transparent, sound and robus allocation policies Two check digits as described by ISO 17422

How LEIs have improved the trade landscape?

In the aftermath of the 2007-2008 financial crisis, the need for a single identification code assigned to each financial institution worldwide was apparent. With each country using different code systems to identify counterparties, assessing risk exposure and resolving financial claims during an evolving crisis was a challenge for many organizations.

The solution came from G20, the leading forum for international economic cooperation. A unique code, aptly titled Legal Entity Identifier (LEI), would recognize each legal body and simplify transaction tracking in different jurisdictions. The first LEI code was issued in December 2012.

Who regulates LEIs?

The international entity overseeing the assignment of codes to the Global LEI System (GLEIS) is the Regulatory Oversight Committee (ROC). To streamline GLEIS maintenance and development, ROC founded the Global LEI Foundation (GLEIF), an organization that certifies Local Operating Units (LOU) to assign LEI codes in different jurisdictions.

What can an LEI code identify?

An LEI code is the quickest way to determine the legal status of an organization. At first glance, LEI is just a string of 20 characters, but it’s the only code ubiquitously accepted by the global financial markets. All registered LEIs are listed in a public database and include the following data:

  • Legal entity or fund’s manager official name
  • Registry name and registry number
  • Company’s legal form
  • ISO country code
  • Headquarters’ address
  • Date when the LEI was first issued
  • Date when the LEI expires
  • Date of the last change of information

Who needs an LEI code?

Any company that is a legal entity may obtain a Legal Entity Identifier and get indexed on the official LEI register. With new regulations authorizing LEI inclusions every month, more and more jurisdictions and industries require LEI codes. As of June 2021, over 120 regulations mandate LEIs both globally and locally. Among them are MiFID II, MiFIR, EMIR, FICOD, Dodd-Frank Act, and many others.

From tightly regulated industries such as banking and insurance to the private sector for which LEI codes aren’t even required, companies utilize LEIs for their powerful credibility boost and an added layer of security. If your company falls in one of the following categories (but not limited to) you’re required by law to register an LEI code.

  • Investment companies and lenders
  • Bankers
  • Brokers
  • Fund managers
  • Traders
  • Institutional Investors
  • Exchange officials
  • Financial intermediaries

Companies that may still apply for an LEI even if it’s not mandatory:

  • Association and branches
  • Government bodies
  • Charities
  • Limited Companies
  • Sole traders
  • Business Validation SSL owners
  • Extended Validation SSL owners

LEIs – more than just a regulatory obligation

The mantra of LEI codes is “no LEI, no trade,” and while this statement is true, LEIs’ benefits go far beyond compliance. The Conformity Flag feature introduces an additional layer of accuracy by flagging the LEIs that passed all the data quality checks as active. This extension enhances Know-Your-Customer (KYS) security and fraud detection.

Along with essential “business card type” information, the LEI reference data includes details about the parent companies. As such, the LEI is the only identifier that answers the two most important questions: ‘who is who?’ and ‘who owns whom?’. It connects parent and children organizations in the most transparent way.

Both humans and applications can use LEI records

  • The entire LEI database is accessible via web, API, or full dataset download. LEIs offer multilingual support for names and addresses, and are used in QR codes, bar codes, digital signatures, e-documents, site seals, and more.
  • Human and machine-readable XBRL digital signatures utzilize LEIs for the utmost integrity of crucial documents such as financial statements and annual reports.
  • You can use LEIs when applying for SSL/TLS certificates and speed up the issuance process.

LEIs in numbers

  • Over 1.9 million organizations across the world have registered their LEIs as of July, 2021
  • Entities based in the United States have the most LEIs in a single jurisdiction, with 12,9% of active LEI share. The UK (8.7%) and Germany (8.1%) complete the top three jurisdictions with the most registered LEIS.
  • According to McKinsey, a global management consulting firm, the LEI system can save the banking industry between two to four billion USD annually in KYC checks.

LEIs are the backbone of financial transactions

In an ever-changing world with challenges and potential crises just around the corner, LEIs offer organizations a predictable and secure means to carry on business as usual. The Legal Entity Identifier is the most important global indicator of a legitimate entity and is endorsed by hundreds of financial and economic regulators worldwide. Due to this peculiarity, LEI codes enable the easiest and fastest way of passing business or extended validation for any BV and EV SSL Certificate.